The CU NextGen Leadership Team


Kent Zimmer

CEO, CU NextGen

As the CEO of CU NextGen, Kent Zimmer continues his success in shaking up the credit union industry for the better.

For seven years, Kent helped lead Members Development Company, one of CU NextGen’s co-founders, first as the R&D CUSO’s Director of Finance and then as their Senior Vice President of Operations. During that time, he oversaw several of the CUSO’s strategic initiatives, including those that led to the creation of CU NextGen and MDC’s NextUP program, the credit union industry’s preeminent innovation training and development opportunity. Kent is no stranger to the needs of credit unions looking to grow and remain relevant in a financial services marketplace that continues to evolve with ever-increasing rapidity.

Kent brings a strong background in finance, project management, operations, and marketing from his previous career across multiple industries. He earned his bachelor of science in business administration from Northern Arizona University. Kent also brings with him to CU NextGen a determination to execute our vision to futureproof credit unions through the practical application of leading-edge technologies, solutions, and next-generation innovation.

Our Board Members

Vinod Tharakan

Managing Director – ClaySys Group of Companies
CU NextGen Board Chair

Timothy Antonition

President and CEO at Space Coast Credit Union
CU NextGen Board Vice Chair

Jeff Kline

President & CEO – Members Development Company
CU NextGen Board Secretary/Treasurer

James Nastars

President/CEO at Meritrust Credit Union

Tony Saldanha

President, Transformant | Ex Global Shared Services VP and CIO, P&G

Steve Koenen

President/CEO at Altra Federal Credit Union